demark!

Welcome to the Blah Blah Blawg!

In Uncategorized on January 27, 2010 at 2:43 am

Where in the world: Chicago (t-minus 60 days)
What I’m doing: studying for the Illinois Bar Exam (t-minus 28 days)
Why I’m posting: Introduction
__________
Hi Everybody!

Well, here we go. My first entry on my first blog. For those that haven’t read the “About” page, I’ll summarize. Basically, this is a blog designed to keep my friends, family, and creditors aware of my locale and current going-ons. Thus, it’s really just a blog. However, for those not familiar with the term “blawg,” it refers to a law blog (lawyers are so clever). Since I’m a lawyer (and hence, so clever…I mean, c’mon: “blah blah blawg”? That’s gold), I do have some interest in posting law-related items from time to time. On a very rare occasion, that may mean talking about something legally esoteric, like how the Statute of Frauds is a waste of time or how 99% of Commercial Paper is irrelevant in the modern age of banks and internet. More often, if there’s any law-related content, it will probably be related to my work and interest in American politics and international rule of law. But though those types of posts will be few and far between in all likelihood, I will try to end every post with a law-related quote, either from a famous case or a famous lawyer/judge. Don’t worry: these quotes won’t be esoteric.

So that’s it for the introduction. Anything more has been posted in the “About” page, including about me and invitations to guest contributors. If you want to rant, have a cool bit of poetry or prose, have worked out a cool statistic, or want to tell the world how much you love me, let me know and I’ll probably put it up. If you just want to comment about a post, please just add them. And if you want to talk, post a comment or just email me.

Thanks all. My best to you – demark!
__________
Who said it: Justice John Marshall Harlan (Harlan 1), Plessy v. Ferguson (1896), dissenting opinion

Why it’s relevant: Bush v. Gore rival counsels (and good friends) Ted Olson and David Boies are teaming up to take down California’s Proposition 8 (banning gay marriage). As I’ve said before, LGBT rights are the next major frontier in American recognition of human rights. To some, overturning gay marriage bans seems like a long shot. But when the Supreme Court decided Plessy v. Ferguson in 1896, even the long shot fell on at least a few capable ears, albeit in dissent. Segregated schools would fall eventually, but Justice Harlan was one of the first to advocate abolition of that abomination.

The quote: “In view of the Constitution, in the eye of the law, there is in this country no superior, dominant, ruling class of citizens. There is no caste here. Our Constitution is colorblind, and neither knows nor tolerates classes among citizens.”

  1. have you ever (edited for content; text replaced) adopted a cockerspaniel?

    • Wow, Drew. Who knew that my first act regarding comments on my blog advocating freedom of speech would be censorship?! Ironic, huh?

Leave a Reply

