demark!

Holy Moly!

In Uncategorized on January 28, 2010 at 9:52 pm

Where I’m at: Chicago (T-minus 58 days)
What I’m doing: counting all the ways I’ve messed up in my bar studies so far
__________
Wow! Just a quick post to note two things and to throw out another relevant quote.
1. One of the really cool things about wordpress.com is that I can see how many people view my blog (not who, though, as far as I can tell). Granted, that will probably be depressing in a few months when it’s no one visiting it, but right now, that’s very exciting! 70 hits so far today! Thanks everyone for taking such an interest in my life to click a simple email link. I love you all! (Of course, this means I’m going to ask to borrow money more often now)

2. Congratulations to the National Immigrant Justice Center on 25 great years. As many of you know, I used to work there and am very proud of that. It’s gone by many names over the years, but has always been a beacon of light in a sometimes dim (immigration law) world. 25th Anniversary Celebration is tonight- way to go!
__________
Who said it: John Adams (our second President and a pretty important lawyer)
Why it’s relevant: Adams was the first and last President until Woodrow Wilson to give a regular “state of the union” address as part of his “duties.” Washington, of course, started the practice, but not right away. Jefferson, fearing the address was too monarchical, sent in a written address then discontinued the practice. (BTW, the last President to send in a written address? Jimmy “Peanuts” Carter in 1981). Also relevant because of the way that President Obama talked to and about himself, lawyers, and Congress last night.

The quote: “In my many years I have come to a conclusion that one useless man is a shame, two is a law firm, and three or more is a congress.”

Leave a Reply

