demark!

Playing house

In Uncategorized on February 7, 2010 at 5:19 pm

Where I’m at: Chicago (t-minus 53 days or so)
What I’m doing: trying to find a bar review lecture online
Why I’m posting: because I’m failing at the above task
__________
So this is probably the first entry that I’m going to write where my reason for posting was not moral outrage (because I’m better than you!) or to post important information (re: everything about the lives of every Supreme Court justice). It’s purely personal, but hear me out.

I’m starting to get nervous about the new job at the State Department. First off, I’m still enough of a libertarian (yes, I was once a cuckoo nutjob…sorry Eric, Matt, and Joe) to hate bureaucracy and red tape. After some gentle ribbing from folks last night, I realize that the red tape is going to be far harder to deal with than I first thought. But okay, fine…I’ll live.

Secondly, though, I hate being pampered. My ideal man is one who limits the amount of products, services, and general help from others to as minimal as possible. I have one bottle in the shower- a 3-in-1 body wash/shampoo/conditioner. If I could get them to put toothpaste and orange juice in the bottle, I’d never need another product in my life.

So when I first heard about the large, taxpayer-funded per diems I get while training in D.C., and that depending on the locale I get sent to I might basically be living in an American-bubble with a house staff and a driver, etc., I started getting nervous. I don’t want the help and don’t (I may eat my words here) need it either. How will I handle on this in the months and years to come? Guess you’ll have to stay tuned to find out. In the meantime, I have to voice my discontent now before Uncle Sam sticks his hand up my __ and uses me as a hand puppet.
(Wow! That was an amazingly right wing post. It must be all those MBAs I talked to last night. Creepy…)
__________
Who said it: Clarence Darrow, greatest trial lawyer in American history
Why it’s relevant: I need to counteract all the conservative stuff I said above. Also, we’re in a recession.

The quote: “Depressions may bring people closer to the church but so do funerals.”

Leave a Reply

