demark!

A guy walks into a bar exam…

In Uncategorized on February 22, 2010 at 8:11 pm

Where I’m at: Chicago (t-minus 32 days)
What I’m doing: Bar exam in 17 hours
Why I’m posting: Goodbye cruel, pre-Bar world!
__________
Tomorrow, I become a man. I’ve told myself that before most big moments of my life: wedding day, college graduation, high school graduation, first football game, first (and only) band recital. Thus far, I’ve been way off. I’ve yet to become more than the man-like, taller boy that I am today. But maybe this time will be different. Probably not.

Anyway, thanks to everyone for the support during the last few months of study. It didn’t end up being as terrible as I thought it would be, but it wasn’t exactly a walk in the park (ooh! N.B.: I took a walk in the park today!). Hopefully the test, too, will not be as bad as it seems.

Incidentally, I hope everyone is enjoying the beautiful biannual event that is the Olympics. Be it winter or summer, it’s really something to see so many “biggest moment of __’s life” moments. To see the couple minutes that someone has literally devoted his or her life to – be in the first round for someone just happy to make it to the Olympics, or the finals for someone expecting more – it’s really a humbling and inspiring thing to watch. It may be trite, but it’ll be my inspiration going into tomorrow.
__________
Who said it: Pierre de Coubertin (founder of modern Olympic Games)
Why it’s relevant: the Bar exam is no Olympic Games, but it is a big moment in my life. I hope I take the right perspective into this.

The quote: “The most important thing in the Olympic Games is not winning but taking part; the essential thing in life is not conquering but fighting well.”

  1. Good luck!! Sounds like you’re ready!

  2. I hope you did well. Ten years from now, you will look back and realize that this was a rite of passage, but nowhere close to being one of the big moments in your life.

Leave a Reply

