demark!

“Welcome to the FSO!”

In Uncategorized on March 31, 2010 at 11:00 pm

Where I’m at: Falls Church, VA (or D.C. metro for short)
What I’m doing: facing the prospect of soon leaving the U.S.
Why I’m posting: Bid list!
__________
Well, folks, I finally made it. I’m in Washington D.C. (or technically at my apartment in Falls Church, VA), now in my first week with the Foreign Service Office. I’ve now heard the phrase “Welcome to the FSO” about 250 times in 4 days (non-hyperbolic estimate).

So what’s it like? In short, pretty sweet. The apartment is nice (pictures in the next post to come), my classmates are nice, the life to come is exciting, and all the high-levelness of it all is pretty impressive. Plus, I think Hillary has a crush on me (just kidding, boss!).

The big deal came quickly. That deal being the sometimes loved, sometimes feared, but always anticipated “Bid List.” It’s the list of all the places in the world that we’re eligible to be sent, and the jobs that go along with them. Though I can’t share the full list, let’s just say it’s “comprehensive.” In other words, 6 continents and 100+ possible posts, with a wide variety of spots on each land mass. Should I go for the spot in Lesotho so we can bounce over to South Africa for the World Cup? (Or go to Rio to stake out great spots for the upcoming World Cup/Olympics?) Should we find a nice tropical spot in the Caribbean? Or check out a burgeoning future mega-metropolis? Or head to a new post in former Yugoslavia where there would only be 1 other person working with me? So many choices! Colleen and I have a lot of decisions to make in a very short time, so wish us luck.

Okay, I’ll keep it short for today, but as always, comments welcome.
_________
Who said it: Miriam Beard
Why it’s relevant: How I’m feeling about all this.

The quote: “Travel is more than the seeing of sights; it is a change that goes on, deep and permanent, in the ideas of living.”

Leave a Reply

