demark!

Quick check in

In Uncategorized on June 4, 2010 at 12:49 pm

Where I’m at: DC
What I’m doing: powering up for another day of the little French (PS: youtube search for OK Go Little Tennis Ping Pong and prepare to laugh)
Why I’m posting: quick hello
__________
To all the folks at home (where is that for me now?) and around the world (including Brazzaville…let’s see if this shows up in Google Alerts now), hello.

Just a quick post to note that I haven’t posted much lately and I definitely haven’t been posting pictures. I’m in such an awe-inspiring city but haven’t sent pictures, assuming others had seen it. Perhaps not or perhaps it’s been awhile. So later this weekend I’ll try to post some pics from around the city near the activities I partake in. First activity up: watching the first place Cincinnati Reds take out the Washington Nationals tonight. Go Reds, baby!

On a more serious note, I’ve found myself mysteriously silent on the Arizona immigration law debate. So here’s my somewhat informed but mostly personal take: (a) walls do not make us safer; so addressing border “security,” which in of itself I find a comical term, must be done through other means; (b) yet I understand people’s concerns about how to address a “rising” (I’d say “fluctuating”) undocumented population in other fashions; (c) but immigration is strictly a federal issue, not to be handled via the grand experiment of federalism by states; (d) and most importantly, racial profiling hurts us all. I say this with all seriousness as a man who has traveled the world and now will be working outside the U.S. for a living: the U.S. is the greatest country on earth not because of it’s military strength, financial prowess, or competitive spirit (those all may be true, too), but rather because it is the only country in the world where people from many if not all cultures gather together under the ideals of the design of freedom. When people come to the U.S. for “a better life,” they don’t just mean money. We take that freedom for granted when we say dumb things on the news or through chain emails like “Congress and the President are threatening our freedom by enacting such and such a law.” That belittles freedom, albeit while reveling in it by having the freedom to say it.

Okay, that’s my two cents. Off to save the world by studying French, he said tongue in cheek.

Leave a Reply

