demark!

Some poetic thoughts

In Uncategorized on July 1, 2010 at 5:26 pm

I said this blog would contain some poetry. And yet, to this point, it’s mostly been a blawg or a blah-g (legalese or boring). Or just pictures. Let’s paint some pictures with our minds this time. (PS: Thank you to all the loyal visitors of this site. Whomever was the last visitor became the 1500 person to the site! Not a bad half-year!)

______________

I live in shades of grey.

 

Daily I find roads diverging

                and daily I choose one.

                and yet nightly I dream the other.

 

I live in shades of grey

                because

                the world has so many colors.

 

I wish for insight; I wish for all things

                but time requires of me

                to have but one time at a time.

 

I live in shades of grey

                and all I ask is

                for the lost life this costs me.

 

When one can only live but once

                he will lay in the one bed he makes

                while dreaming of others.

 

I live in shades that grey

                more with each day’s passing

                and more in the light of new days.

 

Can we not ask for just one more try

                at the day just passed by

                at the thing one cannot buy…

 

                Another try.

 

*

And so each morning comes to pass

After each effort passes along.

We may then wish for another cast

And a new day beneath a new sun.

 

But we are all left with what we have

And have chosen perhaps what chose us.

New efforts may bring new paths

But old labors still collect new dust.

 

Tomorrow will yet be another trip

Down life’s unknowable river.

So I leave here myself this tip:

Chances lost let not make you quiver.

 

Because tomorrow’s choices will soon be

The joyful memories of some past day.

And at last you will then clearly see

That we all live in shades of grey.
  1. Beautifully written! Sounds like a major case of FMS.

  2. loved the poem, demark…..just finished a book, the bridge of sighs, by richard russo. your poem exactly hits the idea of the book. You can dream/think of your parallel universe without demeaning your actual life. it actually enriches and can help you deal with your real world.

Leave a Reply

