demark!

So much happens…so often wordlessly

In Uncategorized on July 13, 2010 at 3:10 am

Where I’m at: Wash DC, back from a couple weekends at the Jersey and Delaware shores

What I’m doing: watching my A-100 classmate, John McCary, in the movie Operation Homecoming (Netflix it)

Why I’m posting: to prove that I have something to say about all the things that have been happening to me

__________

Well, I haven’t posted in awhile and it’s not because I don’t care. In fact, as more happens and happens more quickly in my life, I find that I care more and want to write less. This isn’t because I’m overwhelmed either, but rather because – despite being the lover of words that I am – I find words disappointingly inadequate sometimes. Such observation fits well with the words of the soldiers defining their war experiences on the movie screen in front of me (and with the quote at the end of this post).

20 "Homicide Wings" in a record 5 min, 13 sec!

But here I go trying anyway. So, besides going to Avalon, Rehoboth Beach (where I set the all-time “Homicide Wings Challenge” record at Wings-to-go (see pic), and watching Operation Homecoming, I’ve continued to be busy with French, I had dinner with a great observer in her own right and her very pleasant husband (blog shout-out!), my buddy Eric tied the knot, and Colleen and I each hurt our respective feet. Nothing too amazing when received just so. But as we move more into our life of stationlessness, it’s a slow removal from life as we knew it and a slow transition into permanent transition. It’s an odd emotional journey, the type we’re apt to undergo from time to time in life. As with all journeys, perspective is priceless. If learning to be a diplomat is my job for this country, gaining perspective remains my job for this life. And so when time passes – wordlessly from this end – it’s not for lack of activity, but perhaps because there is so much.

___________

Who said it: Ernest Hemingway

Why it’s relevant: a man who knew something about war, knew something about needing to escape from time to time to find the right words, and a man in whose garden home in Key West my best friends spent Eric’s wedding reception creating new memories for a memorable place.

The quote: “Never think that war, no matter how necessary, nor how justified, is not a crime.”

Leave a Reply

