demark!

Il y a longtemps… (A long time ago)

In Uncategorized on September 28, 2010 at 2:41 pm

Where I’m at: back in DC after Mitch and Kara’s South Bend wedding (NOTHING else was scheduled for that weekend…definitely not a football game)

What I’m doing: reveling and reflecting (as opposed to usual, when I’m maxing and/or relaxing…80s style)

Why I’m posting: a milestone and a moment for pause

___________

First off, I feel compelled to note that I’ve been thinking a lot about our upcoming life in Congo-Brazzaville. After hearing lots of overtures of “We’ll come visit!” (some of which I hope will be true), I have to wonder what living – as opposed to visiting – will feel like. Colleen and I talked the other day about how we will “handle” poverty there. When we’ve traveled to developing countries before, there was always a certain ease in addressing that issue. We were only there for a certain time, we were pretty poor ourselves (of course, by American standards), and there was only so much we could do. We could give the clothes off our backs and the money in our pockets, then tell others about what we had seen, and basically, that was the extent of it. It was too easy to just move on with our own lives. Well, I’ll spare you the rest of our conversation and what we think we might do, but I thought it might be an interesting thought exercise for others not moving to Congo to think about.

That said, on to the meat of the post (sorry Joe and Rachel…hey look! a shout-out!). Today will almost certainly be an historic milestone for Cincinnatians. A longtime ago, the Cincinnati Reds baseball organization was good. Unfortunately, that truly was a longtime ago. But finally, after 15 years, they will clinch the division title for the first time since and head to the playoffs. As anyone that knows me likely is aware, I love the Reds more than any other sports team and would put my love of the team up there against almost any fanatic’s love of his/her team. Heck, every time at school that they said “God, Country, Notre Dame” as a priority list, I was thinking, “Family, Reds, Country, Reds.” Seriously, I think if the Reds seceded from the Union, I’d quit my diplomat gig and join the revolution. No, I’m not joking. I’m not even going to write “jk.”

Anyway, 15 years is a long time (as I’ve mentioned), and a lot of things have happened since then. These are some of them, both personal and global:

– I graduated grade school, high school, college, and law school; I met my wife, courted her, and married her; I met all of the significant friends still in my life; I lost several people close to me, including my father; I’ve lived in Ohio, Indiana, California, Illinois, and Virginia; I’ve traveled to Honduras, Guatemala, Italy, the Vatican, Uganda, Rwanda, DRC, Mexico, Canada, and Costa Rica; I had a dream and a plan and I’ve been incredibly fortunate to see it generally played out

– Two major financial recessions; an increased focused on global communities; the most devastating tsunami, hurricane, and earthquake in history; at least 2 major genocides; the bloodiest world war in history; the creation, rise, and fall of American Idol; the moon landing; Pluto was the 8th planet, then the 9th, then wasn’t a planet at all (please google “Ron Artest, pluto”); the election of the first African-American U.S. president; and a potato chip that looked like Mary Todd Lincoln.

Truly some amazing stuff has happened to us all. Actually, please post a reply if you can think of anything I missed!

__________

Who said it: LCD Soundsystem. Sweeeet band! You should at least check out the song “Daft Punk is playing at my house,” quoted here

Why it’s relevant: The singer, too, has waited a long time for something he really wanted

The quote: “Daft Punk is playing at my house, my house….I’ve waited 7 years and 15 days”

  1. […] He thoughtfully reflects on what has happened in the last 15 years in his last blog post: BlahBlahBlawg.  So, I am responding in kind with my own post as I reflect on the fact that in the last 15 […]

  2. Just thinking of some cool animal experiences I’ve had over the last 15 years: I’ve hiked with wild chimpanzees, spotted a wild leopard and her cub after a fresh kill, swam with 15 foot reef sharks, fed an epileptic zebra, and rubbed down a 2000 lb rhino. I have held a lion’s paws during her annual physical, played with baby gorillas (through glass of course), pet dolphins, come to appreciate bees, and saved a wild octopus from a certain death of drying out in the sand. I can’t really complain.

  3. […] Il y a longtemps… (A long time ago) September 2010 2 comments 5 […]

Leave a Reply

