demark!

Nov-Dec 2010, annotated

In Uncategorized on December 9, 2010 at 2:34 am

Where I’m at: Arlington, back from Vegas

What I’m doing: just sneaking back in from dinner at the Watergate

Why I’m posting: checking in, checking up

__________

From time to time, I find myself behind. Behind on posting, behind on shopping (’tis the season), behind on being a professional, and behind on being ahead. And so I find myself in the predicament where I need to put roughly a month’s worth of material into one post. And so, away we go!

What I’ve/we’ve been up to

We hit up NYC. Colleen’s first trip up there. We saw all the Manhattan sites, as well as got some good hanging out with bunches of our friends, who were in town for the ND-Army game at Yankee Stadium. Awesome trip!

– Thanksgiving back in Dayton, Ohio. So great to see the family all together. As anyone can understand, our big family doesn’t always get along, but we get together and we continue along. And as I told them all, I love them and I’m so fortunate to be able to take lessons from each and every one of them and use those to help me be a success in my work, life, and yes, hopefully my family life, too.

– Unfortunately, Colleen’s so, so sweet grandmother, Rose Hogan, passed away Thanksgiving weekend. She lived a life full of love and was the ideal mater familia. I won’t even try to capture everything about her here because Colleen did such a wonderful job in her blog doing so. Please check it out.

– While out in Vegas for Grandma Hogan’s funeral, we headed out to hike in Red Rock Canyon as kind of soothing reminder of the great things out there. Really one of the most beautiful places on earth.

What I’ve been up to:

Learning about immigration laws from the government side. Really makes me miss my old clients.

– Trying to figure out flights and packing and how much toilet paper to bring to Brazzaville.

– Catching up with some old friends from Ohio that I’ve come back into contact with.

– Falling out of touch with some of my best high school friends ever. For example, Joe and Kate, let’s talk!

– Mentally writing poetry in French, but ultimately writing power ballads in English. Both suck, in case you were wondering.

Miscellaneous

– Book of the month: Naked Economics by Charles Wheelan. Legitimately makes learning economics fun and interesting.

– Quote of the month: “The suspense is terrible…I hope it will last.” – Oscar Wilde, as quoted by Gene Wilder in Willy Wonka

Poetic starter of the month: “Pretty soon it catches all of us –The slow inevitability of the minute – And like a secret everyone knows, We replace our Hope with a Cynic.” – from my poem Polichnelle and in reference to a French expression, “un secret de Polichnelle”

– New movie of the month: Harry Potter, duh.

– Old movie of the month: Elf. Colleen’s favorite movie (at least her favorite Christmas movie)

– Gift of the month: the love of our friends and family. Just kidding, X-box 360

– And funny quote of the month: “Rumack: Captain, how soon can you land? Captain Oveur: I can’t tell.
Rumack: You can tell me. I’m a doctor. Captain Oveur: No. I mean I’m just not sure. Rumack: Well, can’t you take a guess? Captain Oveur: Well, not for another two hours. Rumack: You can’t take a guess for another two hours?” – from the late, great Leslie Nielson as Rumack in the movie Airplane.

  1. […] Nov-Dec 2010, annotated December 2010 LikeBe the first to like this post.▶ No Responses /* 0) { jQuery('#comments').show('', change_location()); jQuery('#showcomments a .closed').css('display', 'none'); jQuery('#showcomments a .open').css('display', 'inline'); return true; } else { jQuery('#comments').hide(''); jQuery('#showcomments a .closed').css('display', 'inline'); jQuery('#showcomments a .open').css('display', 'none'); return false; } } jQuery('#showcomments a').click(function(){ if(jQuery('#comments').css('display') == 'none') { self.location.href = '#comments'; check_location(); } else { check_location('hide'); } }); function change_location() { self.location.href = '#comments'; } }); /* ]]> */ […]

Leave a Reply

