demark!

Trekking around the U.S.

In Uncategorized on October 14, 2011 at 5:37 pm

Where I’m at: Vegas (on the way to Atlanta, just back from Reno, Seattle, Portland, Quebec, Paris!)

What I’m doing: not checking work emails. I promise. I’m on vacation…why would I be checking work emails. No, YOU’RE acting nervous!

Why I’m posting: mid-vacation check-in

__________

So I’m back in Vegas, where I guess I’m technically home. This is, of course, my wife’s home, but my home is still Ohio as far as “where the heart is.” But since we had to declare a home base, despite not really having one in this uprooted foreign service life, we chose Vegas (thanks in part to their generous, “yeah we have budget shortfalls, but we’re still NOT going to tax you!” no income tax plan. God love it.).

In any case, we’re on vacation in the States! Yesterday, I played golf with my brother-in-law…on a course in America! The par-3 9-hole course we played was on the order of infinitely better than the course we have in Brazzaville. And last night, we sat down at an airport bar and had a Guinness…from the tap! Yes, these are some of the super exciting things I was looking forward to reacquainting myself with. That, and fast food (because I CAN!). And working stop lights. And infrastructure. And internet! And streets not filled with garbage! (Each one of these is making more and more excited)

In case you didn’t know this, America is the best thing ever. EVER. It’s actually been a little hard to hear people complain about things here, since everything here is better than everything where we now live. But, of course, it’s all relative. And moreover, the non-satisfaction that Americans have with the status quo (sometimes anyway) is what has made this land of $0.99 burgers (where the crud is the cents key?!) the greatest place on earth.

I’ve gotta get back to vacationing now, but I’d like to give a shout out to a particular post that my friend Rachel just posted. After a really long absence in posting on her fantastic blog, she explained why. Her rationale is really right-on, at least as far as my own feelings. Something to be aware of if you ever consider starting your own blogs (or something to consider for those that have them and feel sometimes “obligated.”).

Happy to be back and seeing so many of you! God Bless America!

__________

Who said it: Anthony Walton

Why it’s relevant: because I’m shamelessly gushing about America right now

The quote: “America’s greatest strength, and its greatest weakness, is our belief in second chances, our belief that we can always start over, that things can be made better.”

  1. thanks for the mention 🙂 and enjoy your R&R! that is pretty much how i remember every time we left dhaka: streets! lights! shiny! clean!

Leave a Reply

